Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to LSCPA's Gates Memorial Library! In this guide you will find how to use library print and online resources to help you with your research and course assignments. If you need further assistance, please call or ask a librarian, in person or Chat with a Librarian.
- Ask a librarian
- Circulation: (409) 984-6218
Reference : (409) 984-6220 & (409) 984-6221
Computer Lab: (409) 984-6150
Need a Laptop/tablet?
Laptops/tablets available for library use only!
Lamar State College Port Arthur, through the Laptop Loan Program, provides laptop computers free of charge to eligible students on a first-come, first-serve basis each semester.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The Business Source Complete database includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Explora for High School This link opens in a new window
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Database designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts, presents all sides of important issues
Books and E-books
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO provides academic libraries with a wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers.
eBook Community College Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges, this multidisciplinary e-book collection includes thousands of titles from notable publishers, including Choice OAT titles.
Spanish-language EBC Content - ProQuest Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
English-language EBC Content - ProQuest Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central delivers, the most complete selection of ebooks for research, teaching and learning with breadth and depth from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia Britannica contains accurate, current, comprehensive and carefully edited articles on all major topics for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of popular magazines, books, and multimedia covering a wide-range of subject areas.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A database that houses thousands of articles, periodicals, topic overviews and more. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides web-based access to current and archived content from more than 2,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
JoVE Core This link opens in a new window
Video textbooks which explain concepts taught in undergraduate courses through high-impact animations and real-life experiments
JoVE Basic Biology This link opens in a new window
Series brings biology to life through over 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology
JoVE Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
Contains a large number of videos for teaching clinical skills in the health sciences, including: physical examinations, emergency medicine and critical care, and nursing skills.
Vocational/ Study databases
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Offers practice tests and exercises for academic and licensing tests including the SAT, GRE, LSAT, real estate, citizenship, ESL and more.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals.
Find items from other Libraries
If Gates Memorial Library does not have the book you want, you can search the catalogs of other libraries or use WorldCat to see if libraries nearby have it. Once you've found the book, you have several options for getting it.
- Library Card
Use (or get) a library card from the closest public library that has it. All residents of Port Arthur can get a library card from the public library in Port Arthur , you just have to have proof of residents. Usually two forms of ID with your address, one with your picture will work.
- TexShare Card
Get a TexShare card at the Circulation desk in Gates Memorial Library so you can check the book out from a nearby college. This option or Interlibraryloan (ILL) are the best options for getting articles Gates Library does not have.
- Interlibraryloan (ILL)
Gates students, faculty and staff can request a book through Interlibraryloan (ILL). This option can take the longest as the book has to come through the mail. You can also request an article through Interlibraryloan (ILL).
Getting a Texshare card
Get a TexShare card from Gates Library so you can get items from other libraries. With a TexShare Card you can directly borrow books, music, movies and more from any other participating TexShare library, just as if you were a card-holder there. Most public and academic libraries participate in TexShare. Search for one near you. Each participating library has slightly different lending policies, you can get links to each libraries policy on the search result list. The only requirement is that you must be a current LSCPA student, faculty or staff member.
Where Do I Get the TexShare Card?
Get a TexShare card at the Gates Library Circulation desk. TexShare cards are good for a semester; users should apply for a new card each semester. New and renewing users may apply for TexShare services using the online application, or by downloading a paper application below and returning it to the Library in person or by mail to:1495 Lakeshore Dr. Port Arthur, 77641
All Gates Library circulating materials can be sent to distance/online students as well as LSCPA Early College program students. Physical items such as books and videos and items used to supplement instruction (reserve) are kept at the circulation desk and typically loaned out for in-house use for 2 hours. Pages from these items can also be requested. Fair use copyright guidelines are followed for items placed on reserve.
Use this online form to request "distance" Library document delivery.
Citations and Plagiarism
Check out these helpful guides for more information about the citation style you are using!
What is the CRAAP test?
The CRAAP test is a set of criteria designed by California State University, Chico to help you find the best sources for your school work. It is a good starting point for evaluating sources for academic purposes like papers, reports, and speeches. Use the following rubric to determine if the source you chose passes the test!
Created by Austin Community College Library Services
Books in the library
Citation style manuals are available at Gates Memorial Library in the Reference collection. The manuals are available for a 2 week checkout.
Concise Guide to APA Style by
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
MLA Handbook by
Publication Date: 2021-06-30
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
A citation generator for MLA, APA, Turabian and Chicago styles.
A citation generator created by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. It assists with creating citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago for all types of resources. You have the option to register for additional features such as saving and exporting citations.
Use NoodleBib Express to quickly create citations in MLA or APA, or register for a NoodleBib MLA Starter account for additional features such as the ability save citations and format a works cited page.
Early College Information
- Woodrow Wilson Early College High School
- Bob Hope Charter School (BHHS)
- Nederland Independent School District (NISD)
- Port Neches Groves Independent School District (PNGISD)
- Port Arthur Independent School District (PAISD)
- Tekoa Academy of Accelerated Studies STEM School (TA)
What is an Early College High School?
Early College High School
Lamar State College- Port Arthur"s (LSCPA) Early College High School (ECHS) Program enables qualified, motivated high school students to earn an associate degree (or up to 60 college credits) while earning their high school diplomas. Early College High Schools:
- Provide dual credit at no cost to students
- Offer rigorous instruction and accelerated courses
- Provide academic and social support services to help students succeed
- Increase college readiness
- Reduce barriers to college access
For more information on Early College High Schools, view the Texas Education Agency's website.
The resources, classes, and people you encounter in college are focused on their specific discipline. Read more to learn how you can navigate college successfully!